The Transition

Before you assume that this post is another post apocalyptic story, let me assure you that’s it not. 

Or maybe it is? 

Let’s read and find out shall we? 

The thing is, I have no clue what I’m going to write in this post. I’m going to just weave a piece out spontaneously. 

Whatever comes to my head first. 

Sounds like a plan right? 

Anyway, I’ve been away but not without reason. There are a million reasons actually. 

First one being exams. If you’re an Indian, it is pretty much mandatory to devote even your breathing efforts to the gods, right before the exams. Who knows which God will give in to your sorry face. 

I call it the “All gods agenda”. Send your epistles to all and maybe one will accept your application for decent marks in the exams.

From a “PHONEtically” balanced life, we shift tracks to the “No PHONE” zone and need I say that it’s tough? 

The parents however, won’t buy into your troubled stories because they’ve known only one thing in life, “When the going gets tough, the tough gets going”. 

They make it their life goal to drill that into our thick heads. What really happens in the end is, the going keeps getting tougher while you chant “I’m tough” with increasing speeds, hoping that your neurones will get motivated to do something. Mine are apparently opportunistic hibernators because they seem to think, “Too much work! Call me when you’re feeling less like a pressure cooker”. 

So while I was experimenting with different “study spots” in my college, moving around like a grazing cow, I realised that exams like these aren’t worth getting worked up over. 

Just as I was beginning to come to terms with the above mentioned predicament, a higher power (she literally lives on the floor above mine) decided to bestow upon me, the honour of her presence as my roommate. 

If you think leaving your phone alone is tough, try leaving your freedom. 

There I was, all alone in a tiny room. Listening to music, dancing like a free spirit with the occassional spasmodic movements in hopes that the fat hanging from my limbs will detach and fall off. 

I was all alone, roaming in nothing but a towel and delivering romantic dialogues to my reflection in the mirror. Who would love me more than I love myself anyway? 

No corner in the room was off limits, I was the master of the switch board and the extension cord. The master of chairs and the master of beds. I had infinitesimal power in my hands and with one knock on my door, she turned me into a deflated balloon. 

So here I am, begrudgingly holding out a spare key for her to take. 

She’s not a bad person but I’m sorry that I have to suppress the animal in me for a long….long time. 

It’s the price I have to pay to steer clear of fights and arguments with my roommate. 

All that said and done, I still need to figure out where I’ll do my jumping jacks now. I don’t want an audience for my dancing boobs, thank you very much. 

I guess that’s about it! Let’s see how my mutism sustains throughout this wonderful journey! 

P.s. I’m very shy, so unless the other person involves me in a conversation (which I’m interested in) I doubt that there will be chatter in this room. 

So not glad to be back to the earphone system. 

Hope you guys are having a wonderful day!

#fate

A.W. 

Leave a comment