Druthers#2 

Let’s go back to the time when I was in the tenth grade which was in 2012 I think. 

The school had planned an excursion and I HAD to go. 

Excursions are the best! Why? Because that’s the one reason why the whole of your grade packs their bags and wears everything other than uniforms and travels in one large group to a pre-decided place. 

I don’t know about you, but I absolutely love the idea of having all my friends together and especially in an environment that is nothing like your school. 

Not only does being with them make me overjoyed but it also gives me a sense of confidence and it’s when all of us are together that I feel the safest. I feel like I can conquer the world. 

What’s the fun in being a one man army when you’ve already got an army full of your classmates to support you? 

If there’s any choice that I won’t regret, it would be agreeing to go for this trip. 

I had the time of my life. 

Now we all know that not everyone in your class is your best friend. There are some trouble makers, irritating specimens and absolutely horrendous people but there are also people who genuinely care and are good at showing that. 

During the one week that we were gone for, I had broken free of the ties I had with “my gang” because I thought that there was nothing we had in common and I felt like I needed to explore. 

And so I went, walking like the lone ranger, I skipped merrily behind the tour guide and cracked jokes out loud. Within no time, I was the she-bro to the guys and we spoke about games, movies, books, FOOD! 

This was something I truly missed whilst being a part of the little group I used to be in. I wasn’t cut out for their nail polish, branded clothes and healthy diet talk. 

They wanted to eat the salad at subway when I wanted to pig out at dominoes. It didn’t work!

Here I was, sitting with the guys and eating all the chaat I want, buying loose t-shirts without feeling insecure and most of all, feeling liberated. 

I didn’t need to filter my thoughts out. That was the best part! Or maybe it was the part where they kept buying me more food. I think that was the best part. 

Who doesn’t love free food? 😍

Aah the old times!

I’d go back and repeat that excursion any day! Or maybe make new friends and do it all over again. 

Hop in if you’d like! 

A.W.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. 🙂 lovely trip down memory lane for you here. Mmmm free food is a real winner. This sounds a lot like the day you stopped living for other people and started living for you, i like that. Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. agnuswalters says:

      When you put it like that, it sounds great and the feeling, the happiness I felt that day was something else. I’m grinning right now.😁😁😊 Thank you for giving this post a read!
      You have a very catchy blog name btw, I’m already heading towards it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That smile is earned and deserved.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. agnuswalters says:

        You do have “blissful” in your name…can’t say it’s not having an effect!

        Like

  2. Riya says:

    Awesome read! Sometimes guys do make better friends because the seem to give less sh*t about things! Hai na?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. agnuswalters says:

      Thank you for the nomination mate!! I’m on top of the world right now 😁😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

